DAVAO CITY (DSWD) – With the theme Sama-samang Paglilingkod ng may Malasakit, the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) commemorates its 66th Founding Anniversary this year.

DSWD Davao Region will mark the milestone with a weeklong celebration from February 27 to March 3. The event will open with a motorcade in the city’s major thoroughfares and culminates with a tribute to outstanding partners and employees.

Making the celebration more festive are other events such as thanksgiving mass, photo exhibits, blessing of new DSWD facilities, bazaar, garage sale, products display by the Sustainable Livelihood Program recipients and DSWD centers, free eye check-up and consultation, vocational technical exhibit, and awards ceremonies.

DSWD provincial teams will also mark the event with various activities such as motorcade of decorated tricycles; presentation of new DSWD vision-mission statements and organizational outcomes; event announcement during provincial convocation; turnover of assistive device; and turnover of livelihood assistance and cash-for-work funds.

This year’s recipients of PaNata Ko sa Bayan or Pagkilala sa Natatanging Kontribusyon sa Bayan Awards include LGU Tagum City, LGU San Isidro (Davao Oriental), Edge Davao, Philippine Information Agency, Philippine News Agency, Ptr. Nimrod Citoy, Ptr. Jonathan P. Cubelo Sr, Dr. Melba L. Manapol, Danny S. Dionaldo, Dr. Fe J. Sinsona, Lucita T. Rodriguez, Rev. Danilo Inguillo Magabulo, LGU Kapalong, Thelma Eliseo-Villagracia, Talaingod Kalahi-CIDSS Federated Association, LGU Maco, and Davao City Pagasa Youth Association of the Philippines.

PaNata Ko sa Bayan Awards recognizes the efforts of individuals, groups and organizations whose panata or vow is to share their resources and time in providing for a better opportunity for the disadvantaged sectors. Under this award are the Salamat Po Award, Gawad sa Makabagong Teknolohiyang Panlipunan, GAPAS Award and Gawad Ulat.

DSWD workers and units that have demonstrated outstanding performance will be honored with PRAISE Awards like Gawad Huwaran, Gawad Kalihim, Gawad para sa Maagap at Mapagkalingang Serbisyo, and Gawad #MayMalasakit. Loyalty Awards will also be presented to employees who have served the Department for 10 years and more. (DSWD)