DAVAO City –“As we celebrate our founding anniversary this Friday, we also give tribute to our partners in development and to our co- workers who have essentially contributed in the pursuit of our programs and projects. We have invited as well the rest of our partners who have been supporting us throughout the years as we continue serving the poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged sectors.”

This was emphasized by Director Priscilla N. Razon of DSWD at the Regional Management Committee Meeting on Monday. She also instructed her staff to invite all media partners. “Our media practitioners have significantly helped us in providing the right information at the right time to the public especially in times of disasters.”

As Secretary Corazon Juliano Soliman empahsized in her message during the awarding rites at the Central Office on January 16, “The past year really tested the mettle of the men and women of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) who were out there in the field assisting the survivors of various disasters which struck our country in succession. We hurdled the herculean task through the solid and generous support of all of you – our dear partners and colleagues, so you rightly deserve this recognition.”

Director Razon said DSWD Assistant Secretary Camilo G. Gudmalin will be the keynote speaker during Friday’s Anniversary Program.

DSWD Awardees for 2013 are Golden Shrine SEA-K, Marphil Children’s Village Foundation, LGU Talaingod, LGU Padada, People Power Volunteers for Reform, LGU Sta. Maria, Nabunturan Federation of Senior Citizens Association, and Pag-asa Youth Association of LGU Gov. Generoso.

Outstanding Partners are Gov. Corazon N. Malanyaon, Gov. Arturo T. Uy, Armed Forces of the Philippines, LGU Davao City, Mayor Allan L. Rellon, Mayor Lorenzo L. Balbin Jr., Mayor Lema P. Bolo, Mayor Eutropio S. Jayectin, Mayor Romeo C. Clarin, Mayor Reynaldo B. Navarro, Mayor Rebecco S. Rosit Sr., Mayor Camilo T. Nuñez, Mayor Arturo C. Monday, SUMIFRU Phils., Eduardo A. Borje, Jocelyn A. Romero, Philippine Ports Authority, Port of Davao-Bureau of Customs, Department of Public Works and Highways, Davao Integrated Port Stevedoring Services Corp., 10th Infantry Division-Philippine Army and Eastern Mindanao Command.

Outstanding DSWD workers are Jenny C. Cadoyas, Laurencia P. Mondreza, Annie L. Rosalinda, Gemma D. Dela Cruz, Sheryl Anne R. Dumalogdog and Juliet I. Alladin. The 24 Loyalty Awardees and one Character Awardee among DSWD personnel will also be recognized.

With the theme, DSWD @ 63: Kaagapay sa Pagbangon at Bagong Simula, other events for the day are Thanksgiving Mass, Regional Conference, Parlor Games, Talentadong Empleyado, and Livelihood Bazaar. (DSWD)