DAVAO City – The Department of Social Welfare and Development in Region XI celebrates its 62nd Founding Anniversary on May 24 with the theme, DSWD @ 62: Sama-Samang Husay Tungo sa Tagumpay.

Highlighting the event are Thanksgiving Mass and Awards Ceremonies. “In recognizing the all-out support of our development partners, we shall be honouring them in this activity. Without their continuing support , we would not have undertaken our tasks successfully, ” said DSWD OIC Regional Director Priscilla N. Razon.

The DSWD XI “Panata Ko Sa Bayan Awardees” are Atty. Atty. Alro S. Paglinawan; Dr. Calixto S. Esparagosa; Dr. Phillip Lim, Children’s Joy Foundation, Inc.; Kalipunan ng Liping Pilipina, Kiblawan, Davao del Sur; Magsaysay Association of Person’s with Disabilities, Davao del Sur; Federation of Senior Citizens Association

Calinan District, Davao City; Sunstar Davao; GMA Network Davao; DXRP-Radyo ng Bayan; Municipality of Compostela; Ma. Fe Aliño of DXRP-Radyo ng Bayan; and San Antonio Mountaineer SEA-K Association, Sta. Maria, Davao del Sur.

Director Razon said the DSWD will also give due appreciation to its partners and supporters in the Tropical Storm Pablo Disaster Relief Operations like the Government of Malaysia, Republic of Indonesia, Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), International Labour Organization (ILO), International Organization for Migration (IOM), United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), United Nations World Food Programme (WFP), International Federation of the Red Cross (IFRC), 10th Infantry Division of Philippine Army, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Regional Police Office XI and Davao City Police Office.

DSWD also pays tribute to its outstanding employees for calendar year 2012: Gemma Dela Cruz, Pedrita Dimakiling, Virgilia Supino, Ellen Nahial, Carolyn Isugan and Elmir Botardo.

Keynote speaker in the Awards Ceremonies is Regional Director Joffrey M. Suyao of the Deparment of Labor and Employment.

37 DSWD workers who have served for 10, 15, 25, 30 and 35 years will also receive Loyalty citations from the department. DSWD